The Department of Education has processed all FAFSA submissions.
Ozarks is actively releasing new student financial aid offers.
Read More

Student-written “End of My Rope” to be performed May 2-3

April 24, 2014
By cnp
Posted in Theatre

University of the Ozarks Theatre will conclude its 2013-14 season with the world premiere of "End of My Rope," a play written by senior David Pluebell.

"End of My Rope" will be presented at 7:30 p.m. on Friday, May 2, and at 3 p.m. on Saturday, May 3, in the Black Box Theatre in the Walton Fine Arts Center.

Tickets for the performance are $8 each and can be purchased at the box office before the event or online at The play contains limited mature language. No babies or toddlers will be admitted.

The play was written by Pluebell, a theatre major from Plano, Texas, who will be graduating from Ozarks on May 17. Professor of Theatre Bruce B. Brown will direct the play.

Pluebell called his play "a slightly off-kilter, character-driven comedy." It centers around Christopher, who is done, finished, through with this life and has decided to end it all.  Just as he slips the noose around his neck there is a knock at the door and the spirited Sunny Calline burst into his tiny flat and insinuates herself immediately into his life.  And, like the sunshine she was named after, she brings with her a light that is sure to warm even our depressed and surprisingly non-medicated, protagonist.   It all seems like a blur to Christopher who finally convinces Sunny to leave so he can get back to the business of secretly ending his life. But as he hesitates, it seems, fate has something else in store for Christopher.  Enter Spork and Alex on the run from the law.  Plans get turned up-side-down, friendships are formed, and of course there is cake for everyone.

The cast includes Samuel Binns as Christopher, Brittany Oviedo as Sunny, Utah Robertson as Spork, and Sandra Davis as Alex. Jonathan Warren and Kady Holmes will serve as understudies.

The crew includes, Darrick Conroy will as stage manager, Jon Warren as assistant stage manager, Pluebell as playwright and scenic designer, Brown as lightning designer, Robertson as costume designer, John Davis as sound designer and Annie Williams as graphic designer. Other crew members include, Lucas Hoiland, Megan Mansur, Hannah Shellito, Lauren Charters, Katelyn Nichols, Friedl Nugent, Danny Barnes, Phoebe Randel, Houston Hall and Heather Tankersly.