The Department of Education has processed all FAFSA submissions.
Ozarks is actively releasing new student financial aid offers.
Read More

Mandi Carter And Ron Hogsett Named Athletes of the Year

May 5, 2006
By cnp
Posted in Athletics

Clarksville, Ark.-University of the Ozarks student-athletes Mandi Carter and Ron Hogsett were named the 2005-2006 Female and Male Athlete of the Year, announced by athletics director Dave De Hart at Thursday's athletic banquet.

The Athlete of the Year award is given to a student-athlete who displays outstanding athletic accomplishments, combined with academic excellence and involvement in extracurricular activities. Carter, a three-year letterwinner on the basketball team and a two-year letterwinner on the soccer team, is now a two-time recipient of the Female Athlete of the Year award. She won the honor for the 2003-2004 season. The 6-foot-1 junior center from Clarksville led the Lady Eagles in rebounding (6.8) and finished second in scoring (13.8). She ranked seventh in the American Southwest Conference in field goal percentage (50.5%). She earned ASC All-East Division Second team honors this season. She is a three-time All-Conference performer and a two-time ASC All-Academic team member. She currently ranks ninth at Ozarks in career rebounding (610) and eleventh in career scoring (1,088). She started in 18 matches for the soccer team and scored two goals. Carter is a Physical Education major. Hogsett, a four-year letterwinner on the men’s soccer team, led the conference in scoring (38), goals (14) and assists (10). The 5-foot-8, 150-pound senior midfielder from McKinney, Texas, earned ASC All-East Division First team honors en route to leading the Eagles to their fourth straight post-season tournament appearance. He ends his career as a four-time All-Conference performer and a two-time ESPN The Magazine Academic All-America selection. He was a three-time ASC All-Academic team selection and a NSCAA Scholar-Athlete All-Region recipient. He was the 2002 ASC East Division Offensive Freshman of the Year and was a member of the 2003 ASC Championship team. He ranks second in Ozarks history in points (130) and third in goals (49) and assists (32). He graduated in December 2005 with a Political Science degree and will enroll in the London School of Economics and Political Science. "Both of these athletes have been exemplary student-athletes during their careers at the University of the Ozarks," stated De Hart. "They each set numerous team records in their respective sports and have also been involved in extracurricular activities all while taking care of business on the academic side. Both were on teams that were successful. They have done a good job on and off the field.” Team awards given at the banquet were as follows: Baseball: Outstanding Offensive Player-Caleb Hilton, Sr., Clarksville, Ark.; Outstanding Defensive Player-Logan Kizer, Fr., Pine Bluff, Ark.; Pitcher of the Year-Brian Heckmann, Sr., Little Rock, Ark.; and Coach’s Award-Tim Driedric, So., Little Rock, Ark. Cheerleading: Cheerleader of the Year-Leslie Martin, So., Camden, Ark.; Freshman of the Year-Amy Rogers, Fr., Malvern, Ark.; and Coach’s Award-Erin Bailey, Jr., Hackett, Ark. Men’s Cross Country: Outstanding Runner-Jacob Sibley, Sr., Searcy, Ark.; and Coach’s Award-Kerry Shirley, Sr., Solgohachia, Ark. Women’s Cross Country: Outstanding Runner-Karen Garcia, So., Wickes, Ark.; and Coach’s Award-Rebecca Bogue, Fr., Willis, Texas. Men’s Basketball: Outstanding Offensive Player-Habeeb Kareem, So., Richmond, Texas; Outstanding Defensive Player-Brad Johnson, Sr., Ozark, Ark.; and Coach’s Award-Jacob Sibley, Sr., Searcy, Ark. Women’s Basketball: Outstanding Co-Offensive Player-Mandi Carter, Jr., Clarksville, Ark.; Outstanding Co-Offensive Player-LaTisha McCalister, Fr., Malvern, Ark.; Outstanding Defensive Player-Lori Moon, Sr., Rogers, Ark.; and Coach’s Award-Becky Kimball, Sr., St. Paul, Ark. Men’s Soccer: Outstanding Offensive Player-Ron Hogsett, Sr., McKinney, Texas; Outstanding Midfielder-Ryan Skelly, Jr., Plano, Texas; Outstanding Defensive Player-Brian Sarber, Fr., Allen, Texas; and Coach’s Award-Aaron Pierson, Sr., Allen, Texas. Women’s Soccer: Outstanding Offensive Player-Amanda Bohon, So., Ponca City, Okla., Outstanding Defensive Player-Becky Obermueller, Sr., Derby, Kansas; and Coach’s Award-Emma Cantele, Fr., Berryville, Ark. Softball: Outstanding Offensive Player-Chelsea Joslin, So., Claremore, Okla.; Outstanding Defensive Player-Jessica Pianalto, So., Springdale, Ark.; Pitcher of the Year-Andrea Mitchell, Jr., Checotah, Okla.; and Coach’s Award-Tiffany Armstrong, Jr., Sheridan, Ark. Men’s Tennis: Outstanding Player-Lee Short, Jr., Little Rock, Ark.; and Coach’s Award-James Johnston, So., Oklahoma City, Okla. Women’s Tennis: Outstanding Player-Olivia Fisher, So., Mountain Home, Ark.; and Coach’s Award-Lea Rana, Fr., Dallas, Texas. <#IMAGE:1#>