The Department of Education has processed all FAFSA submissions.
Ozarks is actively releasing new student financial aid offers.
Read More

Whorton, Williams, 1983-84 Men?s Basketball Team Inducted Into Sports Hall of Fame

January 12, 2013
By cnp
Posted in Athletics

Clarksville, Ark.-Two individuals and one team were inducted into the University of the Ozarks Sports Hall of Fame Saturday at a ceremony in Mabee Gymnasium.

Longtime basketball coach Louis Whorton (’76) and sprinter Percy Williams (‘84) joined 43 other former greats in the Hall of Fame. The 1983-84 men’s basketball team became the first team to be inducted at Ozarks.

Prior to the induction ceremony, nearly 200 attended a lunch in the Rogers Conference Center where new inductees were given a plaque commemorating their accomplishments.

Whorton (’76) is the Head Women’s Basketball Coach at UA-Fort Smith and won a national championship in 1994-95. Williams (’84) was a standout sprinter at Ozarks during the 1980’s and owns the school record in the 100-meter dash with a time of 10.33. The 1983-84 men’s basketball team won the Arkansas Intercollegiate Conference title after posting a 15-3 conference mark.

A magazine celebrating each member of the Hall of Fame can be found here:

Below: Members of the University of the Ozarks Sports Hall of Fame pose for a picture at Saturday’s induction ceremony in Mabee Gymnasium. Louis Whorton (6th from the left), Percy Williams (7th from the left) and the 1983-1984 Men’s Basketball Team were inducted at the ceremony.
Pictured: Kneeling in front: Terrance Rhodes
Front Row (L-R): Lonnie Qualls, Bob Hurley, Ted Young, Leroy Douglas, Johnny Johnson, Whorton, Williams, James Wilks, Head Coach Bruce Terry, Janice Johnson (representing Troy Johnson) and Manager John Hinsley.
Back Row (L-R): Bob Chance, Reggie Martin, Donnie Siebenmorgen, Pete Van Dyke, Charles Ingram, Scott Pierce, David Hund, Fred Frye, Tony Joyner, Assistant Coach Roscoe Gordon and John Lewis.
Qualls, Hurley, Young, Douglas, Chance and Johnson are previous inductees.