The Department of Education has processed all FAFSA submissions.
Ozarks is actively releasing new student financial aid offers.
Read More

Tri-Beta Biological Honor Society inducts newest members

March 1, 2012
By cnp
Posted in Biology

Clarksville, Ark. --- Nine Ozarks students were inducted into the Nu Eta chapter of Beta Beta Beta, the National Biological Honor Society, in a ceremony held on Wednesday, February 29 in Raymond Munger Memorial Chapel.

Inducated as regular members of the Nu Eta chapter were Jose Andino, a junior biology major from La Ceiba, Honduras; Katie Kloepfer, a sophomore biology major from Lafe, Ark.; Laken Littlefield, a junior biology minor from Booneville, Ark.; Tess Montgomery, a junior biology major from Anna, Tex.; and Emily Toombs, a junior biology major from Lamar, Ark.

To be inducated as a regular member of Tri-Beta, a student must be an undergraduate majoring or minoring in biological science who has completed at least one term of the second year of a four-year curriculum. In addition, the student must have completed at least three courses in the biological sciences with a GPA of 3.0 or higher, and must be in good academic standing at the member institution. Students inducted as regular members may hold an office in the local chaper, vote on chapter membership nominations and national questions, and may represent the chapter or vote at national Tri-Beta conventions.

Four students were also inducted into the honor society as associate members, which is a membership designation for students who are interested in the life sciences in some significant way, but who do not qualify for regular membership. The new associate members of the Nu Eta chapter are Sarah Darnall, a freshman biology major from Harrison, Ark.; Corey Dillard, a sophomore biology major from Hot Springs, Ark.; Christopher Kress, a freshman biology major from Burleson, Tex.; and Todd Turner, a sophomore biology major from Pearcy, Ark.

During the ceremony, the graduating senior members of the chapter were also recognized. Those presented with the red and green honor cords were Tristan Cooper, from Clarksville, Ark.; Sabrina Goddard, from Depew, Okla; Ariel Henderson, from Hot Springs, Ark.; Alexa Holland, Lamar, Ark.; Megan Minniear, from Clarksville, Ark.; Andrea Muffuletto, from Eudora, Ark.; Colbey Russo, from Dallardsville, Tex.; Elizabeth Small, from Van Buren, Ark.; and April Young, from Deer, Ark.

Beta Beta Beta was founded in 1922 as a society for students who are dedicated to improving the understanding and appreciation of biological study and extending boundaries of human knowledge through scientific research. To date, more than 553 chapters have been established throughout the United States and Puerto Rico. The Ozarks chapter of Tri-Beta, the Nu Eta chapter, was chartered in 2005, with 17 members.

Having an opportunity to participate in Tri-Beta is an experience that these students will benefit from even after they complete their undergraduate study. "Being a member of Tri-Beta and sharing the membership not only with my fellow Nu Eta chapter members, but also with biologists across the nation, has given me an appreciation of truths uncovered through biological study and research and the inspiration to continue my discovery of unknown truths," said Minniear. Like several of her fellow senior biology majors,  Minniear hopes to continue her studies in the biological sciences by applying to medical school.

For more information about the Ozarks Tri-Beta chapter, contact Andrea Muffelleto, Tri-Beta president, or Dr. Sean Coleman, faculty sponsor for Tri-Beta.