The Department of Education has processed all FAFSA submissions.
Ozarks is actively releasing new student financial aid offers.
Read More

Tennis Teams Earn ITA Academic Award

August 15, 2013
By cnp
Posted in Athletics

Clarksville, Ark.-The University of the Ozarks men?s and women?s tennis teams earned the Intercollegiate Tennis Association (ITA) Team Academic Award for the second straight year, it was announced by college tennis' governing body.

The ITA Academic Team award is open to any ITA program that has a team grade point average of at least 3.20 for the 2012-2013 academic year. Under Head Coach Shaun Wiseman, Ozarks was among a handful of NCAA III schools across the country to earn academic distinction for both men’s and women’s teams. The women’s program posted a 3.38 team GPA, while the men’s program posted a 3.27 team GPA.

Additionally, six student-athletes earned individual accolades from the ITA. Bishop Bass, Todd Turner, Alix Tiegs, Stephanie Cloud, Whitney Lewis and Megan Wallace earned ITA Scholar-Athlete honors. In order to earn ITA Scholar-Athlete status, a player must be a letterwinner, maintain a grade point average of at least 3.50 (on a 4.00 scale) and have been enrolled at their present school at least two semesters.

“This award is a testament to the hard work of these young men and women,” said Wiseman. “Nothing gives me more pride than to be able to brag on how well these student-athletes embody the NCAA Division III philosophy of athletics being second to a strong academic focus. They are committed to working hard in the classroom and on the tennis court, and this award validates their efforts.”

Wiseman has brought both programs to new heights since his arrival in 2007. The men’s team received its first regional ranking from the ITA and posted a program-best 12-4 record during the 2013 spring season. The women’s team had the most wins in a decade and had five players earn All-Conference honors this year.

2013 ITA Scholar-Athletes
Stephanie Cloud (Grapevine, Texas/Accounting)
Whitney Lewis (Clarksville, Ark./Management & Administration)
Megan Wallace (Malvern, Ark./Mathematics)
Bishop Bass (Greenwood, Ark./ Management & Administration)
Alix Tiegs (Dallas, Texas/Radio/Television/Video)
Todd Turner (Pearcy, Ark./Biology)