The Department of Education has processed all FAFSA submissions.
Ozarks is actively releasing new student financial aid offers.
Read More

Presidents Affirm Commitment to American Southwest Conference, League’s Future

October 30, 2012
By cnp
Posted in Athletics

Richardson, Texas?Following announcement of membership changes projected to occur by the conclusion of the 2013-14 academic year, Presidents at 11 American Southwest Conference institutions expressed a strong commitment to the conference and its future.

During a recent conference call, the presidents also endorsed collaborative efforts in support of the NCAA Division III and American Southwest Conference models which integrate a challenging athletic experience within the strong academic and social programs at each member campus.

"I have visited with each president at the member institutions that will maintain membership in the ASC following the 2013-14 academic year, and each has stated a desire to continue participation in NCAA Division III athletics and continue membership in the ASC," said Dr. Randy O’Rear, president of the University of Mary Hardin-Baylor and chair of the ASC Council of Presidents.

"We look forward to a strong future together."

Committed American Southwest Conference members for fall 2014 include Concordia University Texas, East Texas Baptist University, Hardin-Simmons University, Howard Payne University, LeTourneau University, Louisiana College, University of Mary Hardin-Baylor, University of the Ozarks, Sul Ross State University, University of Texas at Dallas and University of Texas at Tyler.

"The presidents value the ASC, Division III and the opportunities each provides students at our institutions," said Dr. Rod Mabry, president of the University of Texas at Tyler and vice chair of the ASC Council of Presidents. "Each president looks to the intercollegiate athletics staff, coaches and students to not only continue strong efforts on campus, but to assist ASC members in enhancing the conference."

The action by the presidential group provides the American Southwest Conference a framework for continuing strategic planning in governance, operations and membership.

"I look forward to moving ahead with the member institutions as we continue to build from a strong conference base and investigate opportunities for future expansion," said Amy Carlton, commissioner of the American Southwest Conference.

Founded in May 1996, the American Southwest Conference sponsors championships in 16 sports and, through the NCAA Division III Strategic Initiative Grant and conference resources, provides programs for professional development, student-athlete well-being and enhanced championship experiences for its students and campus staff.