The Department of Education has processed all FAFSA submissions.
Ozarks is actively releasing new student financial aid offers.
Read More

Ozarks’ PBL group shines at nationals

July 12, 2005
By cnp
Posted in Student Organizations

Clarksville, Ark. --- Fifteen University of the Ozarks students took home honors at the 2005 Future Business Leaders of America-Phi Beta Lambda National Leadership Conference, held recently in Orlando, Florida.

Jennifer Allred placed first in Computer Applications; Miguel Vasquez placed first in Management, second in Leadership, and third in Organizational Behavior; Valerie Petty placed third in Computer Applications; Auxi Guerrero placed third in Business Policy and seventh in Finance; Ana Moncada placed fourth in Sales Presentation; Jorge Dieguez placed eighth in Marketing, Cristina Irigoyen placed ninth in Statistical Analysis, and Ryan Pierson placed tenth in Future Business Executive. In the team and chapter competitive events, Auxi Guerrero, Ryan Pierson, and Travis Tarkinton placed sixth in Business Decision Making. Luis Gonzales and Lori Moon placed seventh in Business Plan. Erin Yancey Rowbotham and Stacy Counts placed ninth in Parliamentary Procedure (as part of the Arkansas Team). Alison Argenal and Aleyda Monzon placed ninth in the American Enterprise Project. The University of the Ozarks’ collegiate chapter also received the national Hollis and Kitty Guy Gold Seal Chapter Award of Merit for its active participation in projects and program identified with the goals of FBLA-PBL. Earlier in the summer, Ozarks’ PBL team competed in the First place in the Arkansas PBL State Leadership Conference. The first place winners in the state competition included Karla Sosa - Organizational Behavior; Auxi Guerrero - Business Policy; Karla Sosa - Leadership; Auxi Guerrero, Yon Jayo, & Cristina Zavala - Business Decision Making (Team Event); Robert Hines, Erin Yancey Rowbotham, Alejandra Tabora, Stacey Counts, Jerry Gamez - Parliamentary Procedure (Team Event); Jennifer Allred - Computer Applications; Miguel Vasquez - Hospitality Management; Miguel Vasquez ? Management; Jorge Dieguez - Marketing; Ana Moncada - Sales Presentation; Chris Schultz - Sports Management & Marketing; Kayla Todd - Future Business Executive; Kari Wood - Chapter Theme Display; Multimedia Presentation; Michelle Menjivar and Tabitha Reed - Community Service Project (Team Event); Joseph Pennington, Mark Hoenninger, Lindsey Tremulis - Partnership With Business Project (Team Event); Tabitha Reed - Word Processing; and Mida Swanson - Accounting Principles. Second Place winners included Carrie Rogers ? Advertising; Cristina Zavala - Business Policy; Fidel Samour - Computer Operating Systems; Sergio Quiroz - Organizational Behavior; Carrie Rogers, Allison Argenal, Aleyda Monzon - American Enterprise Project (Team Event); Hector Lara - Business Plan; Nelson Sotello and Aldo Trinidad - Desktop Publishing (Team Event); Massiel Garcia - Business Communications; Travis Tarkinton - C++ Programming; Valerie Petty - Computer Applications; Fidel Samour - Computer Concepts; Auxi Guerrero ? Finance; Yon Jayo - Information Management; Luis Sanchez - Job Interview; Jose Barahona ? Management; Cooper Koepp - Public Speaking; Ivana Mihajolovic - Sales Presentation; Cortney Lanphear ? Telecommunications; Lori Moon -Word Processing; Jose Barahona and Luis Gonzales - Emerging Business Issues (Team Event); and Shandy Russell - Accounting Principles. Third place winners were Miguel Vasquez ? Advertising; Yon Jayo - Business Policy; Miguel Vasquez ? Leadership; Jose Barahona - Organizational Behavior; Shandy Russell - Annual Business Report; Matt Stagg - Accounting for Professionals; Valerie Petty - Computer Concepts; Hector Lara ? Finance; Kelly Johnson - Human Resource Management; Alfredo Garcia - Information Management; Astrid Reyes - International Business; Jana Rossmaier - Job Interview; Lucia Gomez - Public Speaking; Cristina Irigoyen - Statistical Analysis; Ryan Pierson - Future Business Executive; Cristina Irigoyen - Word Processing; and Guisela Alfaro - Accounting Principles. The University of the Ozarks PBL Chapter was recognized as the Arkansas PBL Sweepstakes winner in the collegiate division. It was also recognized as a State PBL Gold Chapter, as the largest local chapter in the state, and as the University of the Ozarks 2004 ? 2005 Student Organization of the Year. For more than 60 years, FBLA-PBL, Inc. has helped high school, middle level, and post secondary students successfully make the school-to-career transition. FBLA-PBL produces results, including character and leadership, good citizenship, financial management skills, and global marketing knowledge. Each year more than 250,000 students are gaining ability today for their personal and professional development. For more information contact Dr. Robert Hilton at 479-979-1203 or e-mail