Outstanding Students Recognized at Honors Day

May 4, 2022
By Larry Isch
Posted in About
Honors Day 2022

University of the Ozarks administrators and faculty presented the University’s top academic and division awards during the 65th annual Honors Day ceremony, held Wednesday afternoon in the Walton Fine Arts Center.

Vicente Vasquez Velasquez, an environmental studies major with minors in sustainable agriculture, sociology and art from Chitre, Panama, was the recipient of the 2022 Wiley Lin Hurie Memorial Award, presented to the outstanding senior in the graduating class as voted on by the faculty. The Hurie Award is named in honor of the long-time president of the University and is the highest honor given to an Ozarks student. Vasquez was also named the Outstanding Student in Environmental Studies of Natural Sciences.

The award winners in the Division of Humanities and Fine Arts included, Outstanding Student in English – Dax Grove, Outstanding Student in Art – Aaliyah Knowles; Outstanding Student in History – Carlissa Colebrook; the Amanda Alders Pike Art Award – Jessica Frazer and Isabella Olarte; Outstanding Student in Music – Mario Varela-Pecino; Outstanding Student in Philosophy – Katherine Martinez Bojorquez; Outstanding Student in Religion – Korrey Housel; Outstanding Student in Spanish – Colby Dorcely; and Outstanding Student in Theatre – Sydney Ward.

The awards in the Division of Natural Sciences and Mathematics included, Outstanding Student in Biology – Sara Ambrocio Paque; Outstanding Student in Chemistry – Kerigan Bradshaw; Outstanding Student in Health Science – Justice White; Outstanding Student in Psychology – Carly Grace Dougan; and Outstanding Student in Mathematics – Nicolas Dunsworth.

The awards in the Division of Social Sciences included, Outstanding Student in Accounting – Fernanda Pichardo; Outstanding Student in Business Administration – Anna Claire Ryan; Outstanding Student in Political Science – Jordan Henley; Outstanding Student Communication Studies – Sade Seymour; Robert Berry Fulton Award in Communication – Sade Seymour and Johnathan Smith; Outstanding Student in Elementary Education – Abby Ramirez; Outstanding Student in Physical Education – Janna Rhinehart; Outstanding Student in Environmental Studies, Social Science – Christopher Zapf; and Outstanding Student in Sociology – Laura Allcon.

“These students represent the fulfillment of our mission,” said University President Richard Dunsworth. “These students embody being prepared to live life fully. The students we celebrated this afternoon have not only challenged themselves and excelled in their chosen field of study, they have also challenged themselves to explore new interests, to expand their capabilities, to become campus leaders, to experience new cultures, and in doing so, they have become valuable members of this campus community. And, when they leave our campus borders they will be valuable members of the world community.”

Topics: ,