The Department of Education has processed all FAFSA submissions.
Ozarks is actively releasing new student financial aid offers.
Read More

Marcus Bobb Named ASC Fred Jacoby Sportsmanship Award Winner

May 22, 2013
By cnp
Posted in Athletics

Clarksville, Ark.-University of the Ozarks basketball player Marcus Bobb won the 2012-13 American Southwest Conference Fred Jacoby Sportsmanship Award, the conference office announced on Thursday (May 23) after a vote of the league?s athletic directors.

The ASC Fred Jacoby Sportsmanship Award honors a male and female student-athlete who best displays the attributes of sportsmanship, leadership, citizenship and academic integrity in their athletic, academic and life pursuits. To become a nominee on the conference-wide ballot, a student-athlete must win the ASC Sportsmanship Athlete of the Year award in their respective sport. This is the 14th year the ASC has presented its Sportsmanship Award and eighth time the award is being presented after being renamed in honor of the Conference’s first commissioner, Fred Jacoby.

Bobb, a native of Ponder, Texas, displayed maturity and leadership during his three years at Ozarks. He is well-respected by his teammates and opponents for his workman-like attitude and fair play. A three-time ASC All-Conference performer, Bobb was among the oldest college basketball players (31) in country during the 2012-13 season. He came to Ozarks following an extended-traveling mission trip. Bobb, a senior, is a two-time member of the ASC All-Academic Team and will graduate with a double major in Spanish and marketing

“We are very proud to have Marcus represent the ASC as its male sportsmanship athlete of the year,” said former Ozarks men’s basketball head coach Doug Boxell, who has known and coached Bobb since he was a sophomore in high school. “Marcus has always demonstrated great sportsmanship on and off the court. His caring for teammates and opponents can also been seen in his life as he served as a missionary for 10 years before coming back to finish his college degree. He believes the honor is in playing the game the right way. He is definitely a winner.”

Jennifer Cooper, a senior cross country runner/track and field athlete from Mississippi College, was the female winner. Bobb and Cooper will now represent the ASC on the NCAA Division III Student-Athlete Sportsmanship Award ballot.