The Department of Education has processed all FAFSA submissions.
Ozarks is actively releasing new student financial aid offers.
Read More

Lindy Swatzell And Chris Schultz Named Athletes of the Year

December 30, 2004
By cnp
Posted in Athletics

Release: May 5, 2005 Clarksville, Ark.-U of O student-athletes Lindy Swatzell and Chris Schultz were named the 2004-2005 Female and Male Athlete of the Year, announced by athletics director Dave De Hart at Thursday's athletic banquet.

The Athlete of the Year award is given to a senior who displays outstanding athletic accomplishments combined with academic excellence and involvement in extracurricular activities. Swatzell, a member of the women’s soccer team, finished this season second in the conference in goals (21) and shots (94) and fourth in points (46). The 5-4 senior forward from Westwood, Kansas, was named to the All-American Southwest Conference first team this season and ends her career as a four-time All-Conference performer. Swatzell led the team in goals, points and shots for four consecutive seasons and holds the school record for most goals (6) and most points (14) in a match. She holds numerous career offensive records at Ozarks, including goals (42), points (95) and shots (313). She was named the 2001 ASC Offensive Freshman of the Year. Swatzell is an Early Childhood Education major. Schultz, a member of the men’s soccer team, finished this season fifth in the conference in goals against average (1.28) and shutouts (3) and tenth in saves (69). The 5-10, 155-pound goalkeeper from Coppell, Texas, was named to the All-ASC First team this season and the National Soccer Coaches Association of America/adidas Scholar All-South Region Honorable Mention team. He was a four-time All-Conference player and ends his four-year starting campaign as the school’s career leader in minutes played (6619), goals against average (1.17), wins (52), saves (349) and shutouts (28). A member of two conference championship teams, Schultz was the 2001 ASC Defensive Freshman of the Year and earned a spot on the ASC All-Tournament team in 2002 and 2003. He was a three-time member of the ASC All-Academic team and is majoring in Marketing. "Both of these athletes have been exemplary student-athletes during their careers at the University of the Ozarks," stated athletics director Dave De Hart. "They each set numerous team records in their respective sports and have also been involved in extracurricular activities all while taking care of responsibilities in the classroom. Both have been members of teams that have won national academic team awards. They are outstanding examples of an Ozarks’ student-athlete both on and off the field." Other Athlete of the Year candidates included Shannon Rainbolt, a women’s softball player, Chris Harrell, a member of the baseball team and men’s basketball player Brent Johnson. Team awards given at the banquet are as followed: Baseball Outstanding Offensive Player-Caleb Hilton, Jr., Clarksville, Ark. Outstanding Pitcher-Jedd Kirby, Jr., Heavener, Okla. Outstanding Defensive Player-Chris Harrell, Sr., Plaquemine, La. Coach’s Award-Brett Hays, Jr., Little Rock, Ark. Men’s Basketball Outstanding Offensive Player-Habeeb Kareem, Fr., Richmond, Texas Outstanding Defensive Player-Brad Johnson, Jr., Ozark, Ark. Coach’s Award-Josh Joyner, Jr., Little Rock, Ark. Women’s Basketball Outstanding Offensive Player-Erica Eneks, Fr., Mountainburg, Ark. Outstanding Defensive Player-Lori Moon, Jr., Rogers, Ark. Coach’s Award-DeAnna Miller, Sr., Magazine, Ark. Cheerleading Cheerleader of the Year-Erin Bailey, So., Hackett, Ark. Coach’s Award-Jessica Allums, Fr., Plain Dealing, La. Men’s Cross Country Outstanding Runner-Jacob Sibley, Jr., Searcy, Ark. Coach’s Award-Clif Cottrell, Sr., Shawnee, Okla. Women’s Cross Country Outstanding Runner-Sydney Johnson, So., Flippin, Ark. Coach’s Award-Cameron Osborne, Sr., Dallas, Texas Dance Team Outstanding Dance Team Member-Jalena Nelson, Jr., Bethel Heights, Ark. Coach’s Award-Courtney Frost, Jr., Walls, Miss. Men’s Soccer Outstanding Offensive Player-Ron Hogsett, Jr., McKinney, Texas Outstanding Midfielder-Will Brahic, Sr., Modesto, Calif. Outstanding Defensive Player-Lars Nyberg, Jr., Georgetown, Texas Coach’s Award-Cyrus Smith, Jr., Jackson, Miss. Women’s Soccer Outstanding Offensive Player-Lindy Swatzell, Sr., Westwood, Kan. Outstanding Midfielder-Jessalyn Halsted, Fr., Harrison, Ark. Outstanding Defensive Player-Marissa Andrade, Sr., Corpus Christi, Texas Coach’s Award-Ember Smith, So., Allen, Texas Softball Outstanding Offensive Player-Chelsea Joslin, Fr., Claremore, Okla. Outstanding Pitcher-Dana Marvin, Jr., Cabot, Ark. Outstanding Defensive Player-Erica Newell, Jr., Panama, Okla. Coach’s Award-Jessica Pianalto, Fr., Springdale, Ark. Men’s Tennis Outstanding Player-Zach Schiff, Jr., Tulsa, Okla. Coach’s Award-James Johnston, Fr., Oklahoma City, Okla. Women’s Tennis Outstanding Player-Taylor Emanuelson, So., Siloam Springs, Ark. Coach’s Award-Olivia Baxter, Fr., Belfast, Northern Ireland