Fall Commencement set for Dec. 18

December 1, 2021
By Larry Isch
Posted in About
Fall Commencement

University of the Ozarks is expected to confer degrees upon 35 graduating seniors during the Fall 2021 Commencement ceremony, scheduled for Saturday, Dec. 18.

The in-person ceremony, which is limited to ticketed guests, will begin at 10:30 a.m. in the University’s Mabee Gymnasium. Graduates will each be provided eight tickets for guests and Covid protocols, including mask requirements, will be in place throughout the ceremony.

Camyren Antu, a health science major from Arlington, Texas, has been nominated by the faculty and staff to serve as the senior speaker.  A member of the women’s soccer team, Antu was an Academic All-Conference selection in 2020. She has also been a member of the President’s Advisory Council as well as president of the Ozarks Humane Society.

The keynote speaker will be Kendra Akin Jones, a corporate attorney in Northwest Arkansas and a 2001 Ozarks graduate.  Akin Jones is the assistant general counsel for environmental issues for United States Steel, based in Pittsburgh, Penn.  In her role, she manages the team of environmental lawyers overseeing and advising the company on environmental matters. She has a diverse background in covering topics from litigation, to regulatory, sustainability and policy. Prior to joining U.S. Steel, Akin Jones was in roles as senior counsel environmental for Tyson Foods, Inc., and director senior counsel for litigation and contingencies for Windstream Services, LLC.

The graduation ceremony will be livestreamed on the University’s Facebook page and Youtube channel.

Those students who are candidates for graduation include:

Camyren Anella Antu, Arlington, Texas

Hayden Ross Bohannan , Arlington, Texas

Colin Weldon Buckley, Amesbury, Massachusetts

Elisa Dawn Cantu, Argyle, Texas

Adrion Teresa Dantly, Nassau, The Bahamas

Briana Nicole Davis, Verdigris, Oklahoma

Juan Fernando de la Cruz, Frontera, Mexico

Michelle Dayanna Delgado Chacon, Palmichal, Costa Rica

Kelsey Brooke Dixson, Hector, Arkansas

Seth William Duke, Gravette, Arkansas

Ywa Ta Eh, Clarksville, Arkansas

Andric Fernando Garcia Cortes, Mexico City, Mexico

Eric Gasca Martinez, Dallas, Texas

Otoniel Gumbs, Chorrera, Panama

Harry Oliver Hilton, Manchester, England

Mark Lee Holder, Arlington, Texas

Ghael Ivan Jean Louis, Port au Prince, Haiti

Nadine Nubahimana Karabaranga, Rwanda

Alain Fitzgérald Louissaint, Port au Prince, Haiti

Tapiwa Manhungo, Harare, Zimbabwe

Rachael Trinity Leann Masterson, Clarksville, Arkansas

Ariel Nicole Li Xian McKinney, Penang, Malaysia

Steven Austin Neumeier, Bigelow, Arkansas

Jordan Kaye Phillippi, Midlothian, Texas

Jehanne Sarah Rameau, Port au Prince, Haiti

Michel Gregory Rankin, Charleston, Arkansas

Ann Estelle Rener, Leawood, Kansas

Richard Javier Rodriguez Rodriguez, Managua, Nicaragua

Lilian Rubayiza Intwaza, Kigali, Rwanda

Brittney Nicole Sain, Lake City, Arkansas

Nelcica Therassens, Port au Prince, Haiti

Keffgor Eder Thermozier, Leogane, Haiti

Kengor Nedgee Thermozier, Leogane, Haiti

Hannah Nicole Weatherford, Bismarck, Arkansas

Emily Lee Wright, Roswell, Georgia

Topics: ,